Inter-Agency Consultative Group on SIDS (IACG)

Community Details

Created by elena on Apr 11, 2011
1 member (46 pending)

The IACG is an informal consultative mechanism at the working level in which the SIDS focal points of relevant UN agencies as well as international and regional intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) come together to exchange views and information. Moreover, this group also explores ways and means to enhance coordinated and collaborative actions in support of SIDS in implementing the Mauritius Strategy for Implementation for the Barbados Programme of Action based on their respective areas of expertise.

The establishment of the IACG stems from General Assembly resolution 58/213 which “calls upon the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the Secretariat, through the Division for Sustainable Development and its Small Island Developing States Unit, to undertake activities in both the preparatory processes and the International Meeting to enhance coordination and cooperation within the United Nations system as well as with other relevant multilateral organizations to ensure the effective implementation and monitoring of and follow-up to the outcomes of the ten-year review of the Programme of Action”, followed by A/RES/59/311, which "requests the Secretary-General, through the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the Secretariat, to articulate a plan with recommendations for action and proposed activities for the coordinated and coherent implementation of the Mauritius Strategy for Implementation by the relevant United Nations bodies, the specialized agencies, regional commissions and other organizations of the United Nations system within their respective mandates."

SIDS Inter Agency Consultative Group - II
Organization Focal Points Title Office City/Country Phone Number E-Mail
CARICOM  Garfield Barnwell Director, Sustainable Development CARICOM Secretariat Guyana +592 222 0001 to 75 
Ext: 2668/2645
gbarnwell@caricom.org
CARICOM  Valerie Alleyne Odle Director (Ag.) Foreign Policy and External Economic Relations CARICOM Secretariat Guyana +592 222 0001-75 valerieo@caricom.org
CARICOM  Anya Thomas Senior Project Officer Sustainable Development CARICOM Secretariat Guyana +592 691 0419  anya.thomas@caricom.org
CARICOM  Amrikha Singh Senior Project Officer Sustainable Development CARICOM Secretariat Guyana +595 222 0001 75
Ext 2625
amrikha.singh@caricom.org
CBD Secretariat Oliver Hillel Programme Officer-Tourism and Islands SCBD CBD Secretariat Montreal, Canada +1 514 287 7009 oliver.hillel@cbd.int
CEB Secretariat Xenia von Lilien Programme Officer CEB Secretariat DC2, 6th Floor
NY
+1 212-963-4988 vonlilien@un.org
CEB Secretariat Cheryl Stafford Programme Officer CEB Secretariat DC2, 6th Floor
NY
+1 917-367-3116 stafford@un.org
Commonwealth Secretariat Denny lewis-bynoe Economic Advisor Economic Affairs Division Commonwealth Secretariat • Marlborough House • Pall Mall • London SW1Y 5HX • United Kingdom +44 20 7747 6264 d.lewis-bynoe@commonwealth.int
Commonwealth Secretariat Janet Strachan  Adviser & Head (Small States, Environment & Economic Management) Economic Affairs Division - Small States, Environment & Economic Management Section  Commonwealth Secretariat, London SW1Y5HX, United Kingdom +44 20 7747 6270    j.strachan@commonwealth.int
DOALOS Charlotte Salpin Legal Officer  Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs NY +1 212-963-1112 salpin@un.org
DOALOS Alice Hicuburundi  Senior Legal Officer Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs NY +1 212-963-5915  hicuburundi@un.org
ECA Frank Rutabingwa Senior Natural Resources Expert   Addis Ababa, Ethiopia 251-115-443-502 Frutabingwa@uneca.org
ECLAC Subregional Headquarters for the Caribbean Diane Quarless Chief ECLAC Caribbean Room 305, 1 Chancery Lane
Port of Spain
Trinidad and Tobago
+1-212-963-8063
M: +1-868-367-9346
Diane.QUARLESS@eclac.org
ECLAC Subregional Headquarters for the Caribbean Ms Charmaine Gomes Sustainable Development Officer ECLAC Caribbean 1 Chancery Lane
Port of Spain
Trinidad and Tobago
+1868-224-8028 Charmaine.Gomes@eclac.org
ESCAP Pacific Office (EPO) Iosefa Maiava Head ESCAP Pacific Office Suva, Fiji +679 3319 669 maiavai@un.org
ESCAP Pacific Office (EPO) David Smith Deputy Head and Senior Economist ESCAP Pacific Office Suva, Fiji +679 331 9669 smith27@un.org
ESCAP Pacific Office (EPO) Tim Westbury Economic Affairs Officer ESCAP Pacific Office Suva, Fiji +679 3237700 westbury@un.org
FAO    Sharon Brennen-Haylock Director FAO - NY New York +1 212-963-0977 brennen-haylock@un.org; LON-Registry@un.org; FAOLON-Director@un.org
FAO    Matthias Halwart Senior Aquaculture Officer(FIRA) FAO-Italy Italy +39 06 570 55080 Matthias.Halwart@fao.org
FAO    Selvaraju Ramasamy  Natural Resources Officer (NRC) FAO-Italy Italy +39 06 570 56832 Selvaraju.Ramasamy@fao.org
GLISPA Kate Brown Coordinator   Washington DC +1 202 288 2606 Kate.brown@glispa.org
GLISPA Jessica Robbins Islands Communications Manager   New York +1 212-687-3366;
M: 1-202-341-2876
JRobbins@mediaimpact.org
GEF Rawleston Moore Lead, Climate Change Adaptation (acting)   Washington DC   rmoore1@thegef.org
GEF Sarah Amy Wyatt Professional Associate, Biodiversity Conservation   Washington DC +1 202-459-8215 swyatt@thegef.org
IAEA Tracy Brown Liaison/Public Information Officer, J.D., Notary IAEA New York Office NY +1 212 963 6011 brown@un.org
IAEA Yodit Tesfaye Habtemariam Mr Geoffrey Shaw's Assistant IAEA New York Office NY +1 212 963 0971 habtemariamy@un.org
IFAD Zak Bleicher         z.bleicher@ifad.org
IFAD Sophie Ritchie     NY   s.ritchie@ifad.org
ILO Amber Barth Programme Officer ILO Office for the U.N. NY +1 212 697-0150
Ext. 106
barth@ilo.org
IMO Edward Kleverlaan Head Office for London Convention/Protocol and Ocean Affairs  London, UK +44207 587 3122  ekleverlaan@imo.org 
ITU (International Telecommunication Union) Cosmas L. Zavazava Chief of Department, Project Support and Knowledge Management Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT) Geneva  +41 22 730 5447  cosmas.zavazava@itu.int
ITU (International Telecommunication Union) Gisa Fuatai Purcell  Head LSE Division Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT) Geneva +41 22 730 6132 Fuatai.Purcell@itu.int
IOC Gina Bonne Focal Point for IOC Indian Ocean Commission   +230 5919 4835 gina.bonne@coi-ioc.org
IOC Raj Mohabeer       +230 419 2322 raj.mohabeer@coi-ioc.org
IOM Chris Richter  Associate Migration Officer Office of the Permanent Observer to the United Nations NY +1 212 681 7000
ext 204
crichter@iom.int
IRENA Yera Ortiz de  Senior Liaison Officer Office of the Permanent Observer to the United Nations NY +1 646 738 2010 Yortiz@irena.org 
IRENA Elizabeth Press Deputy Director IRENA Innovation and Technology Centre Bonn, Germany +4922839179087
M: +4915254772032
EPress@irena.org 
ITC Nneka Henry Adviser Office of the Executive Director  Geneva +41 22 730 0612  henry@intracen.org
ITC Francesco Geoffroy LDC, LLDC and SIDS Coordinator   Geneva +41 22 730 0387  geoffroy@intracen.org
ITC Meg Jones Senior Officer Millennium Development Goals    Geneva +41 22 730 0166  jones@intracen.org
ITC Siba Kumar Das Consultant   NY +1 212-686-8244 siba.das6@gmail.com
IUCN Narinder Kakar UN Permanent Observer in New York   NY   Narinder.kakar@iucn.org
OECS Bentley A. Browne Director, Social and Sustainable Development Division OECS Secretariat Morne Fortune PO Box 179. Castries Saint Lucia +758 455 6371/2 babrowne@oecs.org
OHRLLS Peter Kenilorea Sustainable Development Officer   NY +1 212-963-9460 kenilorea@un.org
OHRLLS Damien Sass Associate Sustainable Development Officer   NY +1 212-963-0935 sass@un.org
PIFS (Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat) Anna Napua Regional and International Issues Advisers   Fiji +679 331 2600 AnnaN@forumsec.org
PIFS (Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat) Ryan Medrana Natural resources Adviser   Fiji +679 331 2600 RyanM@forumsec.org
PIFS (Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat) Alfred Schuster Development Cooperation Advisor   Fiji +679 331 2600 alfreds@forumsec.org.fj
PIFS (Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat) Resina Katafono Millennium Development Goals Regional Adviser   Fiji +679 331 2600 resinak@forumsec.org.fj
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) Patricia Sachs-Cornish Principal Advisor to the Director-General   New Caledonia +687 262000 patriciasc@spc.int
SPREP Sefanaia Nawadra Director   Environmental Monitoring and Governance Division Apia, Samoa +685 21929
Ext 313
sefanaian@sprep.org
SPREP Espen Ronneberg Climate Change Advisor   Apia, Samoa +685 21929
Ext 248
espenr@sprep.org
UNCTAD Pierre Encontre Chief, SIDS and Status Issues Section Division for Africa, Least Developed Countries and Special Programmes   Palais des Nations, 1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland  +41 22 917 6220  pierre.encontre@unctad.org
UNDP David Payton senior adviser, focal point for interagency relations on SIDS and environment/energy issues UNDP  Environment and Energy Group FF building 305 E 45th Street, Room 986 +1 212 906 5079 david.payton@undp.org
UNDP Kenroy Roach Regional Advisor Regional Bureau for Latin America and the Caribbean New York +1 212-609-5405 kenroy.roach@undp.org
UNDP Derek Pieper SIDS consultant     +1 212-906-5042 derek.pieper@undp.org
UNDP Sitara Syed Chief, South East Asia & Pacific Division Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific NY +1 212-906-5850 sitara.syed@undp.org
UNDP Simon Springett Resident Coordinator and Resident Representative UNDP Mauritius Port Louis, Mauritius +230 212 3726/7  simon.springett@one.un.org
UNOSSC(UN Office for South-South Cooperation) Mami Sakurai Assistant Director, Parnerships and Triangular Cooperation   NY +1 212 906 5609 mami.sakurai@undp.org
UNOSSC(UN Office for South-South Cooperation) Teresa Liu Chief, Division of Development Solutions and Technology Exchange    NY +1 212 906 5336 teresa.liu@undp.org
UNOSSC(UN Office for South-South Cooperation) Jason Goldstein Project Coordinator   NY +1 212 906 6959 jason.goldstein@undp.org
UNEP Takehiro Nakamura Chief Marine and Coastal Ecosystems Branch Nairobi +254-20-7623886 takehiro.nakamura@unep.org
UNEP Maaike Jansen Programme Officer Inter-Agency Officer, NY Office NY +1-212-963-8151 jansen@un.org
UNESCO Douglas Nakashima UNESCO Focal Point for SIDS
Chief, Small Islands and Indigenous Knowledge Section, Division of Science Policy and Sustainable Development
UNESCO HQ in Paris Paris +33-1-4568-3969 d.nakashima@unesco.org
UNESCO Ana Persic Science Specialist UNESCO Office in New York NY +1 212 963 2007 a.persic@unesco.org
UNESCO Khalissa Ikhlef   Assistant Programme Specialist, Small Islands and Indigenous Knowledge Section UNESCO HQ in Paris Paris +33 1 45 68 40 27 k.ikhlef@unesco.org
UNESCO Nicle Webley  Assistant Programme Specialist, Division of Science Policy and Capacity Building UNESCO HQ in Paris Paris +33 1 45 68 40 31 n.webley@unesco.org
UNFPA Michael Herrmann Senior Adviser on Population and Economics UNFPA - NY NY +1  212 297 4941 herrmann@ unfpa.org
UNFPA Saima Ilyas External Relations Specialist UNFPA - NY NY +1 212 297 2625 ilyas@unfpa.org 
UNFPA Sheila Roseau Director and Representative UNFPA - the Sub-regional Office for the English and Dutch speaking Caribbean of UNFPA Kingston, Jamaica +876-906-8591  roseau@unfpa.org
UNFPA Laurent Zessler Director and Representative UNFPA-Pacific Sub-regional Office Suva, Fiji +66 2 687 0100 zessler@unfpa.org 
UN-HABITAT Yamina Djacta Director Liaison Office NY 212 963 5464 djacta@un.org
UN-HABITAT Alain Grimard UN-Habitat Focal Point for SIDS Regional Office Rio de Janeiro +55 21981015925 alain.grimard@unhabitat.org
UNICEF Nicholas Alipui Director and Senior Advisor Public Partnerships Division NY   nalipui@unicef.org
UNICEF Shannon O'Shea   Public Partnerships Division     soshea@unicef.org
UNICEF Xinggen Wang Senior Advisor  Public Partnerships Division NY +1 212-326-7128 xiwang@unicef.org
UNIDO Stein Hansen Chief Strategic Donor Relations UNIDO Office New York Vienna, Austria +43 126 026 5062 s.hansen@unido.org
UNIDO Ralf Bredel Liaison Officer UNIDO Office New York NY +1 917 367 4884 bredel@un.org
UNISDR Steven Goldfinch Programme Officer   UNISDR New York Liaison +1 917 367 2230 goldfinch@un.org
UNODC Gautam Babbar Programme Management Officer and Inter-Agency Affairs Officer   Vienna +43 699 1459 4244 gautam.babbar@unodc.org
UN-WOMEN Verona A. Collantes  Intergovernmental Specialist Intergovernmental Support Division NY  +1 646-781-4417  verona.collantes@unwomen.org
UNWTO  Samiti Siv  Programme Officer World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Headquarters Madrid +34 91 567 8100 /
9332 (dir)
ssiv@unwto.org
UNWTO Zoritsa Urosevic Programme Coordinator World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Headquarters Madrid +34 91 567 8100 / 8166 (dir) zurosevic@unwto.org
WFP Karin Manente Senior External Relations Officer  WFP – Interagency Partnerships Division NY +1 646 556 6905  karin.manente@wfp.org
WFP  Julian Florez External Relations Consultant WFP – Interagency Partnerships Division NY +1 646 556 6917  karin.manente@wfp.org
WIPO Lucinda Longcroft Head WIPO Office New York   +1 212 963 4109 lucinda.longcroft@wipo.int 
WMO Joseph Mukabana Director  Africa and LDCs Geneva   Jmukabana@wmo.int
WMO Mary Power Director Resource Mobilization and Development Partnerships Geneva   Mpower@wmo.int
WMO Paul Egerton Representative to United Nations WMO Office for United Nations NY   Pegerton@wmo.int
World Bank Stefano Curto Small States contact Country Services Department (OPCCS) Washington DC +1 202-473-2109 scurto@worldbank.org
World Bank Nick Jones International Affairs Officer       njones@worldbank.org