Small Islands

The Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS) is the name given to an intergovernmental organisation within the UN, established under the leadership of the Maldives, Trinidad and Tobago in 1990 at the Second World Climate Conference in Geneva.  The organisation represents the many diffuse island states within the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian Oceans and the Caribbean, South China and Mediterranean Seas.

There are 44 member states, 39 of which are also members of the United Nations.  The main purpose of the organisation is to bring representation of all the small island developing countries (SIDS) together under one consolidated voice within the United Nations.  It is concerned solely with the effects of global warming on these small, low-lying ocean island countries.

AOSIS is an ad hoc committee that lobbies for the needs of its member states with emphasis being on the impact of climate change on the economies of these tiny countries, which make up 20% of the UN’s present membership, but whose peoples together account for only 5% of the world’s entire population, who in turn, account for only 1% of the world’s anthropogenic (man-made) GHG emissions.

The organisation has been, and is, extremely active within the UNFCCC (Conference of the Parties to the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change) in shaping global policy on climate change.  It was the first member to put forward a draft text in the Kyoto Protocol negotiations in 1994.  Then in 2013, after the chaos wreaked by Typhoon Haiyan (Super Typhoon Yolanda) in the Philippines, the organisation lobbied for the establishment of an International Mechanism to assess the damage caused by such climate change phenomena.

AOSIS calls for support of its members in the form of finance, technology, and capacity building and also negotiates for insurance support in dealing with extreme situations and also for the setting up of a compensation mechanism for rehabilitation after losses caused by climate change.  Their first success in lobbying for a loss compensation mechanism was in the setting up of the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage associated with Climate Change Impacts, at the Nineteenth Session of the UNFCC otherwise known as COP 19.

Top things to do in Jamaica

The lovely island of Jamaica is coupled with lush, verdant mountains and smooth blue seas. But the best way to tour Jamaica is to know the top things to do and the top places to visit. Scroll through the best...

Nauru Top Tourist Attractions

Nauru's Top Attractions With the history of the island and its economic downfall it seems that there is nothing much that the island can offer the traveller, but for the curious, it is worth a visit.  But be warned there...

The Bahamas

Location and geography The Bahamas archipelago lies 970km (500 miles) south-west of the coast of Florida.  Its 700 low-lying islets and atolls boast the third longest coral reef in the world containing more than 14% of the earth’s coral.  Because...

Trinidad and Tobago

Location and geography The twin-island-country of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago sits on the continental shelf of South America, lying off the mainland just 6.8 miles (11kms) from Venezuela and 81 miles (130kms) south of Grenada.  Trinidad, the southernmost...

The Dominican Republic

Location and Geography of the Dominican Republic The Dominican Republic in the West Indies shares the island  of Hispaniola with Haiti.  Haiti covering 3/8 of the island of Hispaniola, and the Dominican Republic the remainder.  Its border with Haiti is marked...

Pin It on Pinterest